‘Very Hay’: Booth’s Bookshop Cafe

A rainy-day meet up last month in Hay-on-Wye with a friend from sixth form turned into a day of treating ourselves to lunch at Booth’s Cafe.

Wall Veggies Sugar Cubes Drink Menu IMG_0880 Parsnip and Wild Rice Cakes Tom's Cheese Array Tom and his tea Lighting in Booths IMG_0886 Customers patiently waiting Directions to a Cafe nestled within Richard Booth's bookshop

What a lovely treat it was! The food was lovely and I can’t help but fall in love with Hay, my second home, even more when I go back. I love the scenery, shops, bookshops and the houses. It was where I use to live and work before university and I always enjoyed driving into work, past the fields of cows or sheep or horses and parking right behind the gift shop every Saturday and Sunday. It’s such a quaint and unique town and it’s no wonder it’s so popular year round and especially so when the Hay Festival blossoms every May/June.

Hay Castle

If ever in Hay, do make sure and visit Booth’s Cafe. It’s such a unique place to put a Cafe but as Tom said, it is “very Hay”. Only in the town of books would it be completely expected to have a cafe inside of a bookshop! You’d think the smell of cooking food would taint the smell of the ageing books: not a chance. I don’t know how they do it!

If you have the chance, don’t miss out on the Hay Festival this year. I was hoping to get tickets to see Bill Bailey but he’d unsurprisingly sold out. If you are planning on going, let me know what you think. Unfortunately (but also very fortunately), I’ll be working everyday of the Hay Festival at my old job, fill me in on what I’ve missed!

Hay

Hoping to see singer/songwriter Lianne La Havas on Saturday the 2nd of June at the Sound Castle. I’ve told my lecturer of Magazine and Production that I’d do a review of the performance. Looking forward to it! Just need to get my tickets…

Leave a Reply

