Pumpkin & Ricotta Cannelloni Recipe

Last summer was one of my favourites. I didn’t write a post about it so I’ll do that now.

My sixth form friends and I decided to have a bit of a meet and greet / dinner party thing because we’d not done it in a while as a group. Last summer I tended to be splitting my time between my friendship groups: pub or cycling with the boys and chatty catch-ups and mini-drives with the girls. Both equally as lovely! I thought it’d be nice to just really spend time as a big group so I went on a search for a nice place to eat. What does this have to do with pumpkin and ricotta cannelloni? Well I’ll get to that shortly…
IMG_3801

IMG_3915 IMG_3943 IMG_3944
IMG_3949So I had all of these memories of pasta-eating flood back to me tonight and thought of the best pasta meal I’d ever had. It was hands down the crab pasta at The River Cafe in Glasbury. One of my all time favourite places to eat but never can usually afford. The crew were definitely not prepared for our student budgets to stretch that big but they all remorsefully ordered. Regardless, it was an expensive yet very very enjoyable evening. It therefore inspired me to make this really tasty cannelloni masterpiece tonight.

I had a can of pumpkin that I was really looking to make something with and had bought ricotta yesterday. Had a very cheap of Tesco basic lasagna sheets and a half a can of chopped tomatoes. And if you’d like to make it too and you put your faith in my taste buds then please, follow as directed:

Kelsi’s Pumpkin & Ricotta Cannelloni

Serves 2

Mix together with a spoon or spatula: 

1/2 a cup of canned pumpkin

1/2 a cup of ricotta

a few dashes of cinnamon

1 tsp of rosemary

salt and pepper

Boil until almost al dente (about 5 minutes): 

6 lasagna sheets (or double the above ingredients if you want to use the whole box)

a pinch of salt

glug of olive oil

Meanwhile, fry down:

A handful of finely sliced leeks or salad onion

Equivalent of red onion, finely diced

4 mushrooms dice or sliced (your preference)

1 tbsp of olive oil

2 finely chopped garlic cloves if desired

a splash of wine (any if you have it just to reduce the veggies a bit)

Once this has all fried down gently, add:

1 can or box of chopped tomatoes

or 1 cup of tomato sauce

Strain the lasagna sheets and lightly oil a square casserole or glass dish. Wait until coolish to work with but they should be slightly stiff still. Place one sheet at a time in dish and add about a tablespoon of pumpkin mixture to the centre of the sheet. Roll sheet so that pumpkin mixture is in the middle and securely pressed at end. Repeat to other sheets and make sure they are close enough together so that they will help each other cook. Cover the rolls with the tomato mixture completely. Top with grated cheese and pop in a preheated oven. If you’re scared of the cheese burning, put foil over the top. Keep checking on it and is only ready when lasagna is soft enough to eat. If you see any crispy, dry parts on the sheets, then try to dampen them with the tomato sauce. 

Serve and enjoy! 

I’ll upload a photograph of this yummy and easy dish as soon as possible!

*Note that none of the above pasta photos relate to the above recipe. 

All images are copyright of Kelsi Farrington unless otherwise stated. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks very good! Did you use cassia cinnamon or true Ceylon cinnamon? I’ve written a post about the differences that you might be interested in reading.
    http://marcellarousseau.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/new-food-friday-saigon-cinnamon/

  2. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look
    forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

    1. Kelsi Marie says:

      Thank you so much! Really means a lot! I’ll make to keep on top of posting.

Leave a Reply

