Publishing: Cookbook Cover & Title Ideas

Cover Ideas: 0421471ec68d8beb854bccfa6b6dd8b8

'Hungry' Cover
Kinfolk Cover

These are the three books that I really like the style of. As mentioned yesterday, Jerusalem and Kinfolk, but also there is a cookbook that I haven’t yet read- Hungry (seen in the middle.)

What I like about Jerusalem’s cover:

Jerusalem‘s cover is a lovely mixture of gold, white and blue. It’s fabric encasement makes it seem much more expensive and treasurable than any other hardback cookbook I’ve ever held. I love the bullseye effect of the inscriptions and patterns orbiting the title and the name of the chefs and authors.

What I like about Hungry’s cover:

The use of the photograph as the cover and focus with the overlying white text. I also like the way that the brown section coming from the spine of the cookbook spreads to the cover with a quote from the chef.

What I like about Kinfolk’s cover:

Although it’s not a cookbook, I still like Kinfolk’s cover very much and would appreciate it just as much if it were the cover of a cookbook. Albeit the white would be a bit impractical in the kitchen, it’s sleekness makes it a very attractive first impression.

Title Ideas:

What all of the above books have in common is the use of a one word masterhead which I think works really well. I played around with different title ideas that took inspiration from the Bahamas and my childhood. I liked the idea of using ‘roots’ referring to culture and where you come from but felt it was a bit too cliche.

Potcake 4 Potcake 3 Potcake 2 Potcake 1 A Potcake's Cookbook POTCAKE

Why Potcake?

Potcake is a Bahamian term which usually the name of the mixed breed of stray dogs that inhabit the islands. The name came from home cooks chucking out the burnt peas n’ rice that had stuck to the pot for the strays. The potcake as a breed of dog of its own have the reputation for being completely unpredictable in the nature and their looks. So, what you see as a puppy may take genetic tendencies from a doberman or a labrador making them popular for adoption.

As a teenager, I thought of a potcake as something else. Being born in the Bahamas by a British mother and a Bahamian father, I felt that I could jokingly refer to myself as a potcake too. Now thinking about it for my cookbook title, I think it fits the job perfectly and relates to that ‘one word’ masterhead I liked. I played around on Font Squirrel as you can see above and picked out my favourites. I’ve yet to find the one that’s perfect but I do know I’d like it to resemble the font used by the Bahamas’ old advertisements like this one:

4792c54b1e440f111f2520e545480ba8That’s all for today so let me know what you think and if you like ‘Potcake’ as a name. I’d love to hear your feedback!

As a thank you for reading, I’ve added on a recipe that will most definitely be featured in the cookbook. A Bahamian staple and traditional side dish, Bahamian Peas n’ Rice:

Ingredients
1 stick celery chopped
1/2 small onion chopped
1/2 green pepper chopped
Fresh Thyme or dried
salt and black pepper
Oil
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 x can lima beans, pigeon peas, red kidney beans (whatever you prefer)
1 cup of long grain rice
2 cups of water
(You can also use bacon or ham to add flavour but you don’t have to)

If you use bacon or ham cook it in 1 tbsp Canola or Olive oil until brown add ‘the trilogy’ (onion, green pepper and celery ) until soft 5 minutes. Add tomato paste and cook for 2-3 minutes.
Add leaves from 1 stalk fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp black pepper.
Add 2 cups water and can of peas or beans (drained).
When it comes to a boil add 1 cup long grain rice, stir with fork, put lid on and turn heat to simmer. Leave for 20 minutes, do not open the lid.

d39e516dca6409aeb1767a08800f33a7
Eating out: Stewed conch, peas n rice, coleslaw and a Bahamian beer.

Leave a Reply

