Chocolate, Courgette and Banana Bread

My first step to creating a delicious cookbook is to try out and develop some recipes of my own. I have ample handfuls of age-old recipes and then there are the one’s that I have ‘created’. Admittedly, I was never very good at Science as a high schooler and dramatically failed my Biology A-levels, I’ve been reassured that lacking the patience of measuring and following instructions comes directly from my Bahamian roots.

I’m also quite well-known to be someone who tries to eat as healthy as possible on a student budget. Since moving to Falmouth, I became a strict vegetarian. Then after realising that the likelihood of Bahamian food stores selling quorn would be quite slim, I decided that eating chicken and fish again would not only keep me fed when visiting home, but also keep me healthy. Having also come to terms with living in a country (the UK) with so little sun, I really think that the only way to defy the assumption that I’m a student (who obviously doesn’t know how to cook) is to look healthy and shop healthily. Which led me to this creation…

After everyone gets over the idea of courgette (zucchini) being in a sweet bread that tastes more like a cake, then you’ll realise the gorgeousness of this relatively healthy treat that I’d like to rename ‘Chocchini Cake’.


IMG_6887

IMG_6889

I saw this recipe online for a chocolate and zucchini bread and really wanted to give it a try but as always, I came home with what I thought was all of the ingredients but instead had to adapt it to suit me and what I had remembered. The recipe comes from Farmgirl Gourmet and is called ‘Chocolate Chocolate Chip Olive Oil and Zucchini Bread’:

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup local honey
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee powder, optional
  • 1/3 cup cocoa – dutch process
  • 1 2/3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups shredded, unpeeled zucchini, gently pressed
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ loaf pan. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a mixer, beat the eggs, honey, olive oil, sugar and vanilla until smooth.
  3. Add the salt, baking soda, baking powder, coffee powder, cocoa, and flour to the egg mixture until well combined.
  4. Stir in zucchini and chocolate chips until just combined. Pour into the prepared pan.
  5. Bake for 65-75 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and cool for 10-15 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Here’s what I did differently, just because I forgot honey and had a banana that needed to be used. I followed all of the instructions but replaced the honey with treacle (but used only half a tablespoon) and added a mashed banana while mixing the wet ingredients. I also only had self-raising flour so disregarded the baking powder and soda and added a bit more coffee (for taste). Admittedly it isn’t my own recipe by any means but in most forms of creation, how original can you get?

I also used my Nan’s bundt tin to bake it in instead of a normal loaf pan. Why? Because my Dad and I always make a delicious banana and chocolate chip cake in a bundt tin when I’m home. It reminds me of home and carelessly over-indulging. I also found that by using the bundt tin made the ‘bread’ more of a cake and cooked much quicker. That only meant one thing: eating it sooner!

Hope you enjoy it and many thanks to Farmgirl Gourmet of course!

(photos taken by me)

Leave a Reply

