Negotiated Portfolio: InDesign Pieces

For my portfolio I also had to put some pieces into InDesign layouts to prove that I understand how to produce content that doesn’t only read well but looks good too. I think it’s one of the most challenging things with the course but I’ve tried my best to do some mock-up magazine layouts for two of my pieces.

Firstly was the piece I wrote about local Bahamian ‘artist’ Vertrum Lowe which you can read on Frais here (http://fraismagazine.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/island-life-vertrum-lowe/) and my InDesign layout here: Vertrum Layout

I decided to put this piece into an InDesign Layout because it had a lot of photographs and was meant to be a photojournalism piece. Because I wasn’t sure about what counted as a photojournalistic piece when it came to my Portfolio, I played it safe by submitting it as a word document and layout with images I’d taken.

My second piece that I put into a layout was the piece I wrote about a timeless friendship because I thought it would really suit the style of Kinfolk magazine with the fact that it had an added recipe. You can read the published version o fit on Frais as well (http://fraismagazine.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/ingredients-for-a-timeless-friendship/).

Very happy with this layout and I hope you will like it too!

Risotto PDF
*The photos for this piece were taken by Hay-on-Wye based photographer, Finn Beales.

Leave a Reply

